Four Decades of CFD: Looking Back and Moving Forward

A Symposium Celebrating the Careers of Antony Jameson, Phil Roe and Bram van Leer

Sponsored by AFOSR and University of Kansas

June 22-23, 2013

The Westin San Diego, 400 West Broadway, San Diego, California  92101




General Information


Registration Information

       $250 before May 30, 2013.

       $300 after May 30, 2013 or onsite

       Extra reception ($45) and banquet ($65) tickets can be purchased on site.

An extra $10 will be charged by KanForm to process the registration. The registration fee will cover the entire Symposium as well as coffee breaks, a reception on Saturday and a banquet on Sunday. Please register using the registration site as soon as possible (For an international address, you may need to use 00000 as the zip code):

Hotel and Travel Information

We have made arrangements for a block of rooms at



400 West Broadway, San Diego, California  92101



Room rates are $139 for a standard room (single or double occupancy). Applicable taxes will apply. Book your rooms early and identify: University of Kansas. These rooms will be held until 7 June 2013 or until the room block is full, then released for use by the general public.


I was told June 23, 2013 has sold out. However, rooms are still available on other dates.


The Hotel has a complimentary shuttle service from the San Diego International Airport. 


You can reserve the hotel using this link.


Invited Speakers

       Remi Abgrall, INRIA and University of Bordeaux

       Frederic Alauzet, INRIA

       Kyle Anderson, University of Tennessee at Chattanooga

       Phillip Colella, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory

       Herman Deconinck, Von Karman Institute

       Chris Depcik, University of Kansas

       Chris Fidkowski, University of Michigan

       Kozo Fujii, JAXA

       Datta Gaitonde C Ohio State University

       H.T. Huynh, NASA Glenn

       Barry Koren, Eindhoven University of Technology

       David W. Levy, Cessna Aircraft Co.

       Meng-Sing Liou, NASA Glenn

       Gigi Martinelli, Princeton

       Dimitri Mavriplis, University of Wyoming

       Hiro Nishikawa, NIA

       Elaine Oran, Naval Research Laboratory

       Olivier Pironneau, University of Paris VI

       Chi-Wang Shu, Brown

       Paul Ullrich, UC Davis

       John Vassberg, Boeing

       Miguel Visbal, AFRL

       Helen Yee, NASA Ames Research Center


Scientific Committee

       Z.J. Wang (Chair), University of Kansas

       David Caughey - Cornell University

       Fariba Fahroo C AFOSR

       Charbel Farhat - Stanford University   

       Song Fu C Tsinghua University

       Chongham Kim - Seoul National University

       Norbert Kroll C DLR

       Chunlei Liang C George Washington

       Feng Liu - UC Irvine

       Yen Liu C NASA Ames

       Georg May, RWTH Aachen University

       Carl Ollivier-Gooch C UBC

       Jaime Peraire C MIT

       Joe Shang C Wright State University

       Eli Turkel, Tel Aviv University

       Venkat Venkatakrishnan - The Boeing Company

       Kun Xu C HKUST

       J.Y. Yang - National Taiwan University

       Helen Yee, NASA Ames Research Center


Final Program and Presentations

       Here it is.


For up-to-date information, visit the symposium website: